The Mid-Hudson School Study Council Announces 2013 Award Winners.

The Mid-Hudson School Study Council is proud to announce the winners for this year’s Educational Leadership Award. The nominated candidates must demonstrate superior educational leadership and accomplishments in their educational environments. These individuals have shown an advanced sense of creativity in meeting the needs of their students. In addition to their accomplishments in the classroom, they have also contributed to the growth of their professional communities. These educators are among the best of the best in the mid-Hudson region.

The Council is also proud to announce that this year's Friend of the Council Award goes to Mr. Terrence Olivo. Mr. Olivo, a long time educator and veteran school administrator retired from the Monroe –Woodbury Central School District and for the past several years has served the Orange/ Ulster BOCES as their chief operating officer. Terry has volunteered and served the Council throughout his administrative career. He has been a tremendous resource to the Council and his colleagues.

This year's Educational Leadership Award winners are, Dr. Karen Bell, SUNY@ New Paltz, Dr. Janine Bixler, Mount Saint Mary College, and Mr. Tim Rehm, Cornwall Central School District.

Dr. Bell, Associate Dean of Education has contributed an extensive range of outstanding professional activities that support and enhance the mission of SUNY New Paltz. She has had tremendous influence on how teachers and instructional leaders are developed and supported in our region. Her activities have influenced teacher and leadership preparation at New Paltz and have had significant impact on a range of statewide partnerships and policies. Dr. Bell’s administrative problem solving and strong programmatic skills have contributed to an innovative redesign of course offerings to the Department of Educational Administration. Dr. Bell is an active leader was always considering innovative structures for instructional and administrative effectiveness.

Dr.  Bixler is an outstanding scholar and Mount Saint Mary faculty member in her field of literacy education.  Dr. Bixler has led the literacy faculty of the education division as we have established the Collaborative for Equity in Literacy Learning (CELL) during this 2012-2013 academic year.  This is in addition to effectively managing to excel in all of her duties as a faculty member with a full course load, being advisor to the student club devoted to reading children’s books (CIRCLE) and pursuing her scholarly interests through presentations at national conferences. Dr. Bixler’s work has been awarded a National Endowment for the Humanities grant to study students reading with parents in libraries. Dr. Janine Bixler is a leader at Mount Saint Mary College, in her field of literacy at the national level, and in sharing her strong knowledge with teachers.  
Mr. Tim Rehm has dedicated much of his professional career to the students, staff and community of the Cornwall Central School District. The district has prospered under Mr. Rehm’s leadership. Specifically, students have consistently achieved academic success in a most cost effective and efficient manner. Throughout his tenure at Cornwall, Tim has remained highly visible in the community. Students and parents respect and appreciate his leadership and engagement. Tim understands and values the potential of every employee. His focus is solely on student success. It has often been said that Tim may not make the popular decision but will always make the right decision in the interest of students.
Our honorees will be recognized at the Mid-Hudson School Study Council’s annual dinner to be held on April 30 on the campus of Mount Saint Mary in Hudson Hall. The event will begin at 6 PM with a social hour sponsored by J.J. Stanis Company, ECG Engineering, LLC, Hawkins Delafield & Wood, LLP and School Aid Specialists.

In addition to granting the awards the keynote speaker for the evening is In addition to granting the awards the keynote speaker for the evening is Dr. L. Oliver Robinson, Superintendent of Schools, Shenendehowa CSD, New York State Superintendent of the Year.

Reservation Form Click Here